Conrad Sangma Takes Oath As Meghalaya Chief Minister Again, PM Present

Conrad Sangma will serve a second consecutive term as Meghalaya Chief Minister.

New Delhi:

Conrad K Sangma, National People’s Party president, today took oath as the chief minister of Meghalaya for the second consecutive term. Later today, Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)’s Neiphiu Rio will take oath as Nagaland chief minister.

Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar, both from the NPP, took oath as deputy chief ministers, underlining the strength of the regional party in the rainbow coalition which has come to power.

BJP’s Alexander Laloo Hek, UDP’s Paul Lyngdoh and Kyrmen Shylla, and Shakliar Warjri of the HSPDP also took oath as ministers.

In all seven other MLAs from the National People’s Party (NPP), two from the UDP and one each from BJP and HSPDP were also administered the oath of secrecy as members in Sangma’s cabinet by Governor Phagu Chauhan at Raj Bhavan.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit attended the swearing in ceremony as did PJP president J P Nadda.

Interestingly the saffron party had described Sangma’s government as “most corrupt” in the run up to the election but was the among the first parties to strike a post election deal to set up a government in the northeastern state.

Marcuise N Marak, Rakkam A Sangma, Ampareen Lyngdoh, Comingone Ymbon and A T Mondal were among those from the NPP who were sworn-in as cabinet ministers.

The NPP-led alliance has 45 MLAs including 26 from NPP and two from the BJP.

On Monday, 58 newly elected MLAs were sworn in as members of the assembly with pro-tem speaker Timothy D Shira administering the oath of office and secrecy to them.

(This story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *